EBA within the EU institutional framework

The EBA is part of the European System of Financial Supervision (ESFS), which was established in 2010 following the 2008-09 financial crisis and building on the de Larosière report.

This structure sets out multi-layered system of micro- and macro-prudential authorities. It includes the European Systemic Risk Board, the three European supervisory authorities (ESAs): European Banking Authority, European Securities and Markets Authority, and European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority, and the national competent authorities (NCAs).

The EBA closely cooperates with all actors involved in the ESFS. It is in close contact with NCAs through its Board of Supervisors where they are represented, and with its fellow ESAs through their Joint Committee which tackles cross-sectoral issues. The EBA also participates in ESRB meetings to discuss macro-prudential aspects.

Overall, the architecture of the ESFS helps foster consistent and coherent financial supervision across the EU and the EEA. 

A picture containing chart