

# EBA 5<sup>TH</sup> ANNIVERSARY CONFERENCE

FRIDAY, 5 FEBRUARY 2016 - GUILDHALL, GRESHAM STREET, LONDON EC2V 7HH

8.00	Registration and coffee
9.00	Welcome by the LORD MAYOR OF THE CITY OF LONDON
9.10	Opening and welcome by ANDREA ENRIA, Chairperson of the EBA
9.20	<b>KEYNOTE SPEECH</b> by <b>JONATHAN HILL</b> , European Commissioner for Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union

# 9.35 PANEL DISCUSSION:

#### **5 YEARS OF COMMON EU STANDARDS AND POLICIES IN BANKING**

Panellists from public and private institutions at EU, Member State and international level will debate the progress made in the repair of the EU banking sector over the past 5 years. From regulatory changes to adjustments in EU banks' balance sheets, the discussion will assess the effectiveness of the measures taken, the impact of the new EU regulatory framework and how EU banks have adapted their business models to the new rules.

The debate will be moderated by **ADAM FARKAS**, Executive Director of the EBA, and will be followed by a Q&A session with the audience.

# 11.05 Coffee break

# 11.35 PANEL DISCUSSION:

#### A SINGLE MARKET FOR EU BANKS: WHAT LIES AHEAD

Panellists will discuss the EU Single Market project for financial and banking services, focusing on challenges and opportunities that still lie ahead for both regulators and institutions. The debate will centre on mitigating fragmentation processes and strengthening the EU financial system, as well as on how to ensure that a transparent and consistent Single Market brings real benefits to all participants, consumers and businesses alike, while ensuring that financial innovation remains efficient and sustainable.

The debate will be moderated by **GUNTRAM WOLFF**, Director of Bruegel, and will be followed by a Q&A session with the audience

13.05 Closing remarks

# **PANELLISTS**

In alphabetical order

# JOSÉ ANTONIO ÁLVAREZ

Chief Executive Officer of Banco Santander

#### ANDREW BAILEY

Deputy Governor for Prudential Regulation and Chief Executive Officer of the Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA) of the United Kingdom

#### JAIME CARUANA

General Manager of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS)

#### **CHRIS DE NOOSE**

Managing Director of the World Savings and Retail Banking Institute [WSBI] and the European Savings and Retail Banking Group (FSBG)

#### ÉDOUARD FERNANDEZ-BOLLO

Secretary General of the Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority, France

#### MONIQUE GOYENS

Director General of the European Consumer Organisation

#### **ROBERTO GUALTIERI**

MEP and Chair of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs

#### MARTIN HELLWIG

Director of the Max Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods

#### GERHARD HOFMANN

Member of the Board of National Association of German Cooperative Banks

#### ELKE KÖNIG

Chair of the Single Resolution Board (SRR)

# DAVID LLEWELLYN

Professor of Money and Banking at Loughborough University, UK

#### MARIO NAVA

Director of Regulation and prudential supervision of financial

institutions, at DG Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union of the European Commission

# DANIÈLE NOUY

Chair of the Supervisory Board of the Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM) at the European Central Bank (ECB)

# FRÉDÉRIC OUDÉA

President of the European Banking Federation (EBF)

#### **JOSÉ VIÑALS**

Financial Counsellor and the Director of the Monetary and Capital Markets Department of the International Monetary Fund (IMF)