





## **Press Release**

JC 2011 094

3 November 2011

## ESMA, EBA and EIOPA appoint members of Joint Board of Appeal

The three European Supervisory Authorities (ESAs), ESMA, EBA, and EIOPA respectively, today appointed members and alternates of their joint Board of Appeal. The joint Board of the ESAs is independent from their administrative and regulatory structures and will hear appeals from certain decisions taken by the ESAs. The decisions of the Board itself are subject to appeal before the Court of Justice of the European Union.

Following a call for candidates in January 2011, the European Commission approved a shortlist of candidates for the Board of Appeal in April 2011. Building on that shortlist, in June 2011, the Joint Committee of the ESAs adopted a proposal for appointing the members of the Board of Appeal (see list below). The Management Boards of the ESAs have each adopted their decisions following consultation with their respective Boards of Supervisors. The two alternates chosen by ESMA did not accept their appointment due to changed personal circumstances. Therefore, ESMA expects to appoint replacements from the existing shortlisted candidates shortly.

The Joint Board of Appeal comprises six members and six alternates appointed for a term of five years, extendable once. The appointed members forming the body are senior experts in the fields of banking, insurance, occupational pensions, securities markets or other financial services.

EIOPA Noel Guibert (Member, FR), Retired, formerly International Director of the Autorité de Contrôle des Assurances et des Mutuelles

Anna Konstantinou (Alternate, GR), Legal Adviser and General Director of the Motor Insurers' Bureau of Greece

Beata Maria Mrozowska (Member, PL), Legal Counsel, Hogan Lovells

Bob Wessels (Alternate, NL), Professor of International Insolvency Law, Leiden University

ESMA Arthur Docters van Leeuwen (Member, NL), Chairman of Advisory Board, Independent Risk Solutions; formerly Chairman of the Committee of European Securities Regulators and of the Netherlands Authority for Financial Markets

© 2011 1







Juan Fernandez-Armesto (Member, ES), Arbitrator, formerly Chairman of the Spanish Securities and Exchange Commission

EBA William Blair (Member, UK), High Court Judge, Queen's Bench Division

Giuseppe Godano (Alternate, IT), Retired, formerly lecturer, International and EU law, Universities of Rome and Cassino

Katalin Mero (Member, HU), Associate professor, Department of Finance and Accounting, International Business School, Budapest

Pat McArdle (Alternate, IE), Adviser to the Independent Review Panel on the Irish Department of Finance

## **Next steps**

The members of the Board of Appeal will elect a president from amongst them who will have the responsibility of convening the Board when necessary. The Board will also develop and adopt its rules of procedure and provide information for parties on how to file appeals.