EBA's Banking Stakeholder Group elects Chairperson

04 November 2013

The EBA's Banking Stakeholders Group (BSG) has re-elected Mr David Llewellyn as its Chairperson. The election took place during the first meeting of the newly appointed EBA's Banking Stakeholders Group (BSG) on 30 October 2013.

David Llewellyn, Professor of Money and Banking at Loughborough University, UK, had served as Chairperson of the BSG in its former configuration until the expiry of its mandate in September this year.

Commenting after the vote, Professor Llewellyn said: "My priority will be to ensure that the EBA Banking Stakeholders Group continues to fulfil its mandate and advise the EBA on any issues that it deems necessary, from regulatory activities to consumer protection".

Professor Llewellyn has been working with several central banks on aspects of the global financial crisis and resolution strategies and was a Director at the UK Personal Investment Authority (the former regulator of retail investment services in the UK).

The BSG group also elected Mr Andrea Resti as its Vice-Chairperson. Andrea Resti is Professor in Banking and Finance at Bocconi University in Milan, Italy and previously served on the BSG as Coordinator of its Technical Working Group on Bank Liquidity.

The EBA Banking Stakeholder Group is appointed by the EBA's Board of Supervisors. The EBA consults the BSG on the EBA's proposals for technical standards, guidelines, recommendations and other tasks.


Press contacts

Franca Rosa Congiu

press@eba.europa.eu | +33 1 86 52 7052 | Follow @EBA_News